MPG honours the year’s production talents

Charlie Andrew
Charlie Andrew

Charlie Andrew: takes home the MPG’s Producer Of The Year Award and 2016 BRIT Award for Best Producer

More awards news as Charlie Andrew received the top prize at this week’s annual Music Producers Guild Awards ceremony

Producer Charlie Andrew received the top award at this week’s annual Music Producers Guild Awards ceremony, which took place at London’s Grosvenor House on Wednesday 3 February. Andrew, who received the MPG Award for Breakthrough Producer in 2013, was nominated for this year’s Producer Of The Year Award for his work with Alt-J, Marika Hackman and Sivu. Winning this honour meant that he automatically received the 2016 BRIT Award for Best Producer, which was presented at the same time.

This year’s MPG Awards also saw an increase in the number of female recording professionals carrying off gongs. Olga Fitzroy and Catherine Marks won the awards for Breakthrough Producer Of The Year and Recording Engineer Of The Year, while FKA twigs won the Awards for UK Single for Pendulum and UK Album Of The Year for LP1, both of which she co-produced. There was also an MPG Inspiration Award for Sylvia Massy, whose hugely successful career in the recording industry has embraced many roles including producer, engineer, mixer, writer, artist and educator.

The MPG Awards 2016 also honoured producer and artist Youth (Martin Glover) with the MPG’s Outstanding Contribution to UK Music Award. Youth, who is one of the founding members of Killing Joke, later took to the stage to perform with several of the artists he has produced over the years, including Killing Joke, Alex Paterson from The Orb and The Verve’s Richard Ashcroft.

MPG Awards Director, Tony Platt commented: “The diversity of talent winning MPG Awards this year is truly outstanding and we are proud to be reflecting the ever rising number of women in the top tier of music making. It was yet another all-round great night for the UK music business.”

The full list of 2016 MPG Award winners are as follows:

UK Producer Of The Year
Charlie Andrew

Outstanding Contribution to UK Music
Youth (Martin Glover)

Recording Engineer Of The Year
Olga Fitzroy

Mix Engineer Of The Year
David Wrench

Mastering Engineer Of The Year
John Davis

Subscribe to Songwriting Magazine

UK Album Of The Year
LP1 by FKA twigs

UK Single Song Release Of The Year
Pendulum by FKA twigs

Remixer Of The Year

Breakthrough Producer Of The Year
Catherine Marks

Breakthrough Engineer Of The Year
Brett Cox

International Producer Of The Year
Max Martin

Studio Of The Year
Air Studios

The A&R Award
Chris Briggs

The MPG Award For Innovation
Geoff Emerick

The MPG Award For Inspiration
Sylvia Massy

The Special Recognition Award
Fran Nevrkla

The Music Producers Guild was conceived and is supported by producers and engineers who are passionate about all aspects of making and recording music. It is a not-for-profit company and is run by volunteers from the membership. The annual MPG Awards event celebrates the achievements of this creative community, and aims to stimulate development and evolution through the discussions and debate. For more details, visit:

There are no comments

Add yours

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Songwriting Magazine