Nashville Songwriters Hall Of Fame inductees announced

Nashville Songwriters Hall Of Fame press conference
Nashville Songwriters Hall Of Fame press conference

Inductees announcement at Columbia Studio A (left to right): Mark Ford, Executive Director of the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Foundation; inductees Craig Wiseman, Even Stevens and Mark James, joined by Pat Alger, chair of the organisation’s board. Pic: Bev Moser

Rosanne Nash and writers behind legendary songs for Elvis Presley, Tim McGraw and Conway Twitty join the roster of luminaries

osanne Cash, Mark James, Even Stevens and Craig Wiseman will be inducted into the Nashville Songwriters Hall Of Fame, according to an announcement made by Pat Alger, chair of the organisation’s board of directors. The four new inductees will join the 196 existing members of the elite organisation when they are officially inducted during the 45th Anniversary Nashville Songwriters Hall Of Fame Gala on 11 October at the Music City Center.

“Nashville remains the primary destination for anyone with an appreciation of songwriters and the art of songwriting,” said Alger. “Since 1970, the legacy of those great songwriters has been celebrated and preserved by the Nashville Songwriters Hall Of Fame. Each year only a few are elected to this high honour, and this year we are proud to welcome the class of 2015: Mark James and Craig Wiseman in the songwriter category; Even Stevens in the veteran songwriter category and Rosanne Cash as our songwriter/artist.”

Mark James’ songwriter credits include Hooked On A Feeling originally for B.J. Thomas and also performed by Blue Swede, and Suspicious Minds for Elvis Presley. Craig Wiseman’s resume is known for Live Like You Were Dying for Tim McGraw, Believe for Brooks & Dunn and The Good Stuff by Kenny Chesney. Even Stevens is the tunesmith behind Suspicions and Drivin’ My Life Away for Eddie Rabbitt, and Crazy In Love by Conway Twitty. Rosanne Cash popularised many of her own compositions, including Seven Year Ache, Blue Moon With Heartache and Hold On.

Since 1970, the Nashville Songwriters Hall Of Fame has enshrined nearly 200 of the greatest writers from all genres of music ever to put words to music in Music City, including such luminaries as Bill Anderson, Bobby Braddock, Garth Brooks, Felice & Boudleaux Bryant, Johnny Cash, Don & Phil Everly, Harlan Howard, Kris Kristofferson, Loretta Lynn, Bob McDill, Bill Monroe, Willie Nelson, Roy Orbison, Dolly Parton, Dottie Rambo, Jimmie Rodgers, Fred Rose, Don Schlitz, Cindy Walker and Hank Williams.

Operated by the non-profit Nashville Songwriters Foundation, the Hall Of Fame is dedicated to honouring Nashville’s rich legacy of songwriting excellence through preservation, celebration and education. More information is available at

There are no comments

Add yours

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Songwriting Magazine