The ISC unveils 2017 judges

Matt Epp and Faouzia
Matt Epp and Faouzia

Matt Epp and Faouzia: the Canadian singer-songwriters were awarded the ISC 2016 grand prize

International Songwriting Competition kicks off with another stellar judging panel comprising Lorde, Tom Waits, Perry Farrell, Ziggy Marley and more

International Songwriting Competition (ISC) has announced its panel of judges for the 2017 contest. Established in 2002, ISC is the world’s largest songwriting competition, receiving entries from more than 130 countries. ISC gives away more than $150,000 in cash and prizes shared among the 71 winners, including an overall grand prize consisting of $25,000 cash and more in prizes. Open to both amateur and professional songwriters, ISC offers 23 categories to enter, representing all genres of contemporary, popular music.

This year’s ISC judging panel comprises a long list of recording artists and music industry executives, including Presidents and CEOs from an array of top record labels. The well-known artists on the ISC 2017 judging panel include Lorde, Perry Farrell, Tom Waits, Ziggy Marley, American Authors, Heart’s Nancy Wilson, Booker T. Jones, The Mavericks, Sara Evans, Bastille, Keane, Billy Cobham, Natalie Grant and John Mayall.

“One of the biggest challenges facing artists is getting their music heard by the decision-makers in the music industry. Typically music executives receive so much new music each week that it is impossible for them to listen to even a fraction, or any, of what they get,” states ISC’s Candace Avery. “Entering ISC offers an unique opportunity for artists to actually get their music heard by high-level industry executives, as well as some of their favorite recording artists.”

In 2016, singer-songwriters Matt Epp and Faouzia landed the grand prize in the International Songwriting Competition (ISC), becoming the first Canadians to win the top spot in the 16-year history of the competition. Their song The Sound was chosen by judges from more than 16,000 entries from 137 countries. Other previous winners of the ISC include Vance Joy, Bastille, Gotye, Kehlani, Lindsey Stirling, Kimbra, The Band Perry, Andrew Bird, Passenger, Gin Wigmore, Missy Higgins, Gregory Porter, King Charles, For King And Country and Matthew Koma.

Entering ISC can be done online or through the mail, and information can be found at

There are no comments

Add yours

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Songwriting Magazine