Kurt Vile reveals details of his new album

Kurt Vile
Kurt Vile

Kim Gord0n says: “”Kurt does his own myth-making”

Kurt Vile has unveiled the details of his sixth album and confirmed that the first single will be ‘Pretty Pimpin’

urt Vile has announced details of his sixth studio album, as well as confirming the first single to be released from the LP. Entitled b’lieve I’m goin down…, the record is to be released on Matador Records on 25 September and is the follow-up to Vile’s critically acclaimed 2013 album Wakin On A Pretty Daze. The first single to be released from the album will be Pretty Pimpin.

Sonic Youth’s Kim Gordon said of the record: “Kurt does his own myth-making; a boy/man with an old soul voice in the age of digital everything becoming something else, which is why this focused, brilliantly clear and seemingly candid record is a breath of fresh air. Recorded and mixed in a number of locations, including Los Angeles and Joshua Tree, b’lieve i’m goin down… is a handshake across the country, east to west coast, thru the dustbowl history (“valley of ashes”) of Woody honest strait forward talk Guthrie, and a Cali canyon dead still nite floating in a nearly waterless landscape. The record is all air, weightless, body-less, but grounded in convincing authenticity, in the best version of a singer-songwriter upcycling.”

You can see the full track listing of b’lieve I’m goin down… below:

1. Pretty Pimpin
2. I’m An Outlaw
3. Dust Bunnies
4. That’s Life, Tho (Almost Hate To Say)
5. Wheelhouse
6. Life Like This
7. All In A Daze Work
8. Lost My Head There
9. Stand Inside
10. Bad Omens
11. Kidding Around
12. Wild Imagination

There are no comments

Add yours

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Songwriting Magazine