UK Americana Awards nominations revealed

UK Americana Awards 2016
UK Americana Awards 2016

UK Americana Awards 2016: part of a trio of events, including a two-day conference and an evening of showcases

The nominations shortlist is announced ahead of the first UK Americana Awards taking place in Hackney, London on 3 February

The nominations shortlist for the first UK Americana Awards has been announced by The Americana Music Association UK (AMA-UK). The winners will be revealed at the awards show on Wednesday 3 February 2016 at the St. John at Hackney music venue in East London, hosted by broadcaster Bob Harris, with musical direction by award-winning producer and musician Ethan Johns.

The shortlist has been compiled from the nominations of AMA-UK members, who will now vote to choose the winners. Accompanying the seven membership-voted awards below will be two special accolades conferred by the AMA-UK Board: The Bob Harris Emerging Artist Award and The Trailblazer Award.

UK Album Of The Year
What Kind Of Love by Danny & The Champions Of The World (produced by Chris Clarke and Danny George Wilson)
Searching For The Supertruth by The Dreaming Spires (produced by The Dreaming Spires)
The Toerag Sessions by Emily Barker (produced by Liam Watson)
If I Was by The Staves (produced by Justin Vernon)

International Album Of The Year
Something More Than Free by Jason Isbell (produced by Dave Cobb)
Pageant Material by Kacey Musgraves (produced by Luke Laird, Shane McAnally and Kacey Musgraves)
Blackbirds by Gretchen Peters (produced by Doug Lancio, Gretchen Peters & Barry Walsh)
Introducing Cale Tyson by Cale Tyson (produced by Cale Tyson)

UK Artist Of The Year
Bear’s Den
Danny & The Champions Of The World
The Dreaming Spires
Lewis & Leigh

International Artist Of The Year
The Bros. Landreth
Jason Isbell
Gretchen Peters
Sturgill Simpson

UK Song Of The Year
Agape by Bear’s Den (written by Andrew Davie, Kevin Jones and Johannes Refsdal)
Clear Water by Danny & The Champions of the World (written by Danny George Wilson and Paul Lush)
Rubble by Lewis & Leigh (written by Al Lewis and Alva Leigh)
Black & White by The Staves (written by The Staves)

International Song Of The Year
24 Frames by Jason Isbell (written by Jason Isbell)
All These Dreams by Andrew Combs (written by Andrew Combs and Jabe Beyer)
American Middle Class by Angeleena Presley (written by Angeleena Presley)
Blackbirds by Gretchen Peters (written by Gretchen Peters and Ben Glover)

UK Instrumentalist Of The Year
Joseph Bennett
BJ Cole
Spencer Cullum Jr
Paul Lush

Featuring nominee and special guest performances, the awards show forms part of a trio of events taking place in London on 2-3 February 2016, including a two-day conference and an evening of showcases to be held at various Hackney venues. Tickets are now on sale from

USA Songwriting Competition 2024

There are no comments

Add yours

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Songwriting Magazine