Music Producers Guild announces 2015 award winners

Dave Stewart at the MPG Awards 2015
Dave Stewart at the MPG Awards 2015

Dave Stewart proudly clutches an MPG Award for Outstanding Contribution To UK Music. Photo: Alex de Mora

Paul Epworth is Producer Of The Year again and Dave Stewart is honoured for his Outstanding Contribution To UK Music

ast night saw the Music Producers Guild annual awards ceremony take place at London’s Park Plaza Riverbank Hotel, where producer Paul Epworth carried off the top gong for the third time in seven years. Epworth, who has recorded numerous artists including Sir Paul McCartney, Adele, Florence and the Machine, Coldplay and John Legend, was handed the MPG’s Producer of the Year Award for 2015 – an honour that he also won in 2010 and 2013. As its recipient, he automatically received the 2015 BRIT Award for Best Producer, which was presented at the same time.

Now well established as an annual music industry event, the Music Producers Guild Awards 2015 also honoured former Eurythmic Dave Stewart with the MPG’s Outstanding Contribution to UK Music Award. Stewart later took to the stage to entertain guests with a live performance. Among the artists joining him were young American singer Thomas Lindsey, with whom Stewart has recently recorded an album; 17 year old British newcomer Holly Stephenson, who is soon to release her first album produced by Dave Stewart, and The Lake Poets (aka Martin Longstaff), a multi-instrumentalist singer-songwriter from Sunderland.

“There has always been a close relationship between artists and recording professionals and we are delighted that the MPG Awards is always so enthusiastically received by those at the forefront of creating great music,” commented MPG Chairman, Steve Levine. “Once again, our winners and nominees have been involved in hugely diverse projects that cover a wide range of musical styles and genres. This truly reflects the incredible amount of recording talent we have here in the UK and I am delighted that the Music Producers Guild is annually able to give these worthy professionals the credit they deserve.”

The full list of MPG 2015 Award winners:

  • UK Producer Of The Year – Paul Epworth
  • Outstanding Contribution To UK Music – Dave Stewart
  • Recording Engineer Of The Year – Mark Rankin
  • Mix Engineer Of The Year – Mark ‘Spike’ Stent
  • Mastering Engineer Of The Year – Mandy Parnell
  • UK Album Of The Year – Tales Of Us by Goldfrapp
  • UK Single Song Release Of The Year – Stay With Me by Sam Smith
  • Remixer of the Year – James Rutledge
  • Breakthrough Producer Of The Year – Tom Dalgety
  • Breakthrough Engineer Of The Year – Robbie Nelson
  • International Producer Of The Year – Dan Auerbach
  • Studio Of The Year – RAK Studios
  • The A&R Award – Korda Marshall
  • The MPG Award For Innovation – Giorgio Moroder
  • The MPG Award For Inspiration – Damon Albarn

For more information about the Music Producers Guide, visit

There are no comments

Add yours

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Songwriting Magazine