Sting to release his ’57th & 9th’ album


Sting: at the junction in Manhattan on the way to the recording studio. Photo: PRNewsFoto/A&M/Interscope Records

The Police man has completed his first rock/pop project in over a decade, revealing the tracklisting and its first single

Sting '57th & 9th' album cover

57th & 9th album cover

Interscope/A&M Records has announced the release of Sting’s new album, 57th & 9th, on 11 November – his first rock/pop project in over a decade. Now available for pre-order, the record is said to represent ‘a wide range of Sting’s musical and songwriting styles’, with the only hint being the guitar-driven first single, I Can’t Stop Thinking About You, unveiled this week.

Recorded with his long-time collaborators Dominic Miller (guitar) and Vinnie Colaiuta (drums), 57th & 9th is produced by Martin Kierszenbaum and includes contributions from drummer Josh Freese (Nine Inch Nails, Guns N’ Roses), guitarist Lyle Workman and the San Antonio-based Tex-Mex band The Last Bandoleros.

Referring to the recording sessions being completed in matter of a few weeks, Sting explains: “It happened very quickly, very spontaneously… My idea always is to surprise myself and the people I’m working with—and, hopefully, the listeners.”

The title is taken from the Manhattan street corner that he crossed each day on the walk to the studios in Hell’s Kitchen, where the album was recorded. Sting notes that, if there is a theme in the lyrics of 57th & 9th, it’s the idea of forward movement. “It’s about searching and travelling, the road, that pull of the unknown,” he says. “On this album, we ended up with something that’s energetic and noisy, but also thoughtful.”

The tracklisting of the standard release – which is also available in 180-gram vinyl – is as follows:

  1. I Can’t Stop Thinking About You
  2. 50,000
  3. Down, Down, Down
  4. One Fine Day
  5. Pretty Young Soldier
  6. Petrol Head
  7. Heading South On The Great North Road
  8. If You Can’t Love Me
  9. Inshallah
  10. The Empty Chair

The Deluxe edition will also include liner notes, penned by the man himself, and three bonus tracks: I Can’t Stop Thinking About You (LA Version), Inshallah (Berlin Sessions Version) and a live track of Next To You performed with The Last Bandoleros. Plus, a physical-only Super Deluxe version will also include collectible photographs, along with a DVD featuring an exclusive interview with Sting.

Lead single I Can’t Stop Thinking About You is out now at all digital retailers, with the album 57th & 9th available on pre-order before its release on 11 November. Watch the video below to hear Sting explain his initial approach to songwriting for this record and, to find out more, go to

There is 1 comment

Add yours

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Songwriting Magazine