Max Martin becomes 10-time Songwriter Of The Year

Max Martin Polar Music Prize 2016
Max Martin Polar Music Prize 2016

Max Martin: Songwriter Of The Year for a tenth time

ASCAP Pop Music Awards honours 2017’s top performers and songwriters including Max Martin, Justin Bieber, Diane Warren and Meghan Trainor

ASCAP, the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers, hosted its 34th Annual ASCAP Pop Music Awards where recognising pop mastermind Max Martin as Songwriter Of The Year for an unprecedented tenth time. The award honours his role in crafting an astonishing number of the past year’s hits, including Justin Timberlake’s Can’t Stop the Feeling!, Adele’s Send My Love (To Your New Lover) and Pink’s Just Like Fire.

ASCAP Pop Music Song Of The Year went to Love Yourself, written by Justin Bieber. In a tribute to Bieber and his team, 2017 ASCAP ‘EXPO Factor’ Showcase-winning a cappella group The Filharmonic performed the song live. But the evening’s highlights belonged to two highly accomplished, multi-platinum award-winning songwriters: Diane Warren was honoured with the prestigious ASCAP Founders Award, and pop star Meghan Trainor received the ASCAP Vanguard Award.

Warren, who has written timeless songs such as Un-Break My Heart and I Don’t Want to Miss a Thing for an extensive list of iconic artists including Beyoncé, Adele and Whitney Houston, was honoured with two live tributes: LeAnn Rimes sang How Do I Live, and Jacob Latimore performed Have You Ever. In a surprise appearance, rapper Snoop Dogg, a past Warren collaborator, presented her with the award. The ASCAP Founders Award is presented to pioneering ASCAP songwriters who have made exceptional contributions to music by inspiring and influencing their fellow music creators.

Meghan Trainor received ASCAP’s highly regarded Vanguard Award, which recognises the impact of songwriters who are shaping the future of American music. In addition to her 2015 breakout hit, All About That Bass, and two multi-platinum albums Title and Thank You, Trainor has penned hits for artists including Rascal Flatts, Lauren Alaina, Jennifer Lopez and Fifth Harmony.

A complete list of winners can be found on the ASCAP website:

There are no comments

Add yours

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Songwriting Magazine