Keane singer prepares solo debut

Tom Chaplin

Tom Chaplin: treading that fine line between joy and despair

The English band’s lead vocalist is set to release his first ever solo album ‘The Wave’ after lead single ‘Quicksand’

Keane frontman, Tom Chaplin has announced the release of his first solo album, The Wave, on 14 October on Island Records. It is the first time he has stepped outside the anthemic, multi-million selling British band that scored five No 1 albums between 2004 and 2013.

Featuring eleven songs written by Chaplin, the album was produced by Matt Hales (Aqualung, Lianne La Havas) and recorded in Pasadena, California and London. Opening track Still Waiting is a cinematic journey through life’s ups and downs. “If there is a narrative of going from dark to light through the course of my record, then Still Waiting is firmly rooted in the darkest place,” explains Chaplin.

Second track, Hardened Heart deals with some of the demons the singer has endured and the lead single also occupies some dark spaces. “Musically we wanted Quicksand to tread that fine line between joy and despair while making the chorus heartfelt and uplifting.”

The full tracklisting for The Wave:

  1. Still Waiting
  2. Hardened Heart
  3. The River
  4. Worthless Words
  5. I Remember You
  6. Bring The Rain
  7. Hold On To Our Love
  8. Quicksand
  9. Solid Gold
  10. See It So Clear
  11. The Wave

Tom Chaplin’s The Wave is due for release on 14 Oct on Island Records, but the first single Quicksand is out now. Also, a taster in the form of the video to Hardened Heart can be viewed below. For more details, go to:

There are no comments

Add yours

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.