Aerosmith to headline Download 2017


Catch Aerosmith at Download 2017. Image by Julio Aprea. Creative Commons

System Of A Down and Biffy Clyro will join rock giants Aerosmith as main stage headliners at Download festival 2017

The first wave of bands for the 2017 incarnation of the much-loved Download festival have been announced, with the news that Steven Tyler and co. will top the bill, alongside System Of A Down and Biffy Clyro.

The festival, that takes place at Donnington Park, will also feature AFI, Rob Zombie, Every Time I Die, and Slayer. System Of A Down will take the Friday night slot – their third headline appearance at Download. While Biffy Clyro’s Saturday night outing marks their debut as headliners.

Joe Perry from Aerosmith said: “Donnington is like home to us. I have some great memories playing there.”

There has been some trepidation surrounding the band lately, with rumours that this could be one of their final shows. Guitarist Brad Whitford has shown discontent saying: “We kind of feel a little bit abandoned by him [Tyler].”

While the lead singer is yet to respond to Whitford’s comments, he has spent this summer touring his solo work – a project which looks set to continue in the future.

The festival takes place between 9-11 June. Tickets are on sale now.

There are no comments

Add yours

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Songwriting Magazine