Anna Wolf

Unsigned Only announces winners of annual contest

Anna Wolf

Anna Wolf: the first South African to win Unsigned Only

Anna Wolf has been crowned the winner of 2019’s Unsigned Only music competition, becoming the first South African to win

The singer-songwriter claimed the top prize, beating 6000 entries from over 100 countries, with her song Believer. Having built a career in South Africa, Wolf moved to London in 2018, where the winning entry was written and recorded in her bathroom.

Wolf wins $20,000 in cash, plus a further $40,000 in merchandise and services. The singer will also benefit from one-on-one mentoring from music industry executives including: Pete Ganbarg (President of A&R, Atlantic Records), Nick Haussling (Senior VP of A&R, Warner Records), Liz Cohen (A&R, RCA Records), Kim Stephens (President, Forward Entertainment/A&R, Lava Records), David Silbaugh (Talent Buyer, Summerfest), Brinson Strickland (President, Collective Artist Management) and Kristyn Ciani (Talent Buyer, C3 Presents).

Every year Unsigned Only awards a total of $150,000 in cash prizes to 38 winners in a broad range of categories including folk, country, blues and EDM. Since the first awards took place in 2012, five grand prize winners have been signed to a record label.

“I feel such gratitude for this honour,” said Anna Wolf. “The message of Believer is burnt into every fibre of my being: to let go of expectations, to face my own vulnerabilities and to always keep faith that tomorrow will be the day I get to share my music with the world.”

For the full list of winners of Unsigned Only 2019, and registration for 2020, visit

There are no comments

Add yours

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.