Indie supergroup Minor Victories announce debut album

Minor Victories
Minor Victories

The slow-motion video for ‘A Hundred Ropes’

The band features members of Slowdive, Mogwai and Editors, who all work entirely remotely. Their album’s out on 3 June

Minor Victories, a supergroup comprising members of several successful indie and post-rock outfits, have announced that their self-titled debut album will be released on 3 June via Fat Possum/PIAS… despite some of the band never having actually met!

Minor Victories consist of Slowdive’s Rachel Goswell (vox/guitar), Mogwai’s Stuart Braithwaite (vox/guitar), Editors’ Justin Lockey (guitar) and film-maker Justin Lockey of Hand Held Cine Club. All their work is done by remote collaboration via the worldwide information superweb, with Lockey undertaking production duties. Lockey also shot the video for the first track to surface from the band, A Hundred Ropes, which you can see below.

Sun Kil Moon’s Mark Kozelek (vox/guitar) and The Twilight Sad’s James Graham (vox) also appear on the album, on the tracks For You Always and Scattered Ashes (Song For Richard), respectively.

The full tracklisting for Minor Victories is as follows:

1. Give Up The Ghost
2. A Hundred Ropes
3. Breaking My Light
4. Scattered Ashes (Song for Richard)
5. Folk Arp
6. Cogs
7. For You Always
8. Out To Sea
9. The Thief
10. Higher Hopes

There are no comments

Add yours

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Songwriting Magazine