AIM 2016 Awards winners announced

Christine and The Queens
Christine and The Queens

Christine and The Queens: AIM’s 2016 Independent Breakthrough Of The Year. Photo: Atlantic Records (Press)

Christine and The Queens, Adele, Roisin Murphy, Stormzy and Slade among those celebrated at the independent music association’s annual bash

Last night, the Association of Independent Music celebrated the achievements of independent artists, labels and festivals, as it revealed the winners at the sixth annual AIM Independent Music Awards. Hosted by Radio X’s John Kennedy and BBC Radio 1/1Xtra presenter MistaJam, the event was marked by live performances this year from Oscar and Little Simz.

XL Recordings’ Richard Russell was the recipient of this year’s Pioneer Award, the Independent Label of The Year was won by Epitaph/Anti, who celebrate the label’s 20th anniversary this year, and up-and-comers Numbers are following in their footsteps with the Best Small Label award. Jon Tolley from independent retailer Banquet Records was presented with the Indie Champion Award.

Independent Album of The Year was picked up by Little Simz for her debut A Curious Tale Of Trials + Persons. Best Difficult Second Album was won by Daughter for Not To Disappear, while Adele added to her burgeoning trophy cabinet with Independent Track of The Year for her smash hit Hello.

Christine and The Queens won Independent Breakthrough of The Year, Sigala picked up the PPL Award For Most Played New Independent Act while Darren Hayman collected Hardest Working Band or Artist following his Thankful Villages project.

Elsewhere, Brainchild Festival won the Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival while Babymetal collected the fan-voted Best Live Act award. Glam rock icon Noddy Holder took to the stage to collect Slade’s Special Catalogue Release of the Year prize, with Oscar picking up Independent Video of the Year for Sometimes.

Grime superstar Stormzy was the recipient of this year’s Innovator Award, presented by Radio 1Xtra’s Twin B and Beats 1’s Julie Adenuga. Roisin Murphy collected the Outstanding Contribution to Music Award, celebrating the innovations of the singer, songwriter and performer.

For more information about AIM, go to:

There are no comments

Add yours

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Songwriting Magazine