Ed Sheeran confirms new album

Ed Sheeran, Divide
Ed Sheeran, Divide

÷: the album artwork concept designed and painted by Sheeran himself

Superstar singer-songwriter officially announces the release of “divide”, after breaking Spotify one-day streams record with new single ‘Shape Of You’

After a series of cryptic posts on Twitter, widespread speculation and two record-breaking comeback singles – Castle On The Hill and Shape Of You – released last week, Ed Sheeran has finally announced the forthcoming release of his third studio album ÷ – pronounced “divide”. The symbolically titled LP follows the theme of the singer-songwriter’s previous record-breaking, multi-million-selling albums x and +.

Continuing to make history this week, Shape Of You broke Spotify’s record for ‘one day’ streams, which was previously held by Adele’s Hello.

“First off, what a week! The reaction to my new singles has been absolutely mind-blowing and I can’t thank you enough.” said Sheeran. “My new album ÷ holds a very special place in my heart and I really believe this is my best work to date. I’ve been eager to get back and I couldn’t be more excited.”

According to the announcement from his record label, the new record draws inspiration from a host of personal experiences and subjects, reflecting on past relationships, family memories, his musical career or his time off travelling the world in 2016. Musically we’re told to expect ÷ to offer an array of orchestrated and emotive ballads, raps laid over hip hop beats, acoustic guitar tracks and pop music.

Executively produced by Benny Blanco (Rihanna, The Weeknd) and Ed himself, with further production coming from Johnny McDaid, Mike Elizondo and Steve Mac, the album was recorded between Los Angeles, London, Suffolk and the transatlantic ocean liner RMS Queen Mary 2.

The ÷ tracklisting:

  1. Eraser
  2. Castle On The Hill
  3. Dive
  4. Shape Of You
  5. Perfect
  6. Galway Girl
  7. Happier
  8. New Man
  9. Hearts Don’t Break Around Here
  10. What Do I Know?
  11. How Would You Feel (Paean)
  12. Supermarket Flowers

The Deluxe version of the album also includes:

  1. Barcelona
  2. Bibia Be Ye Ye
  3. Nancy Mulligan
  4. Save Myself

Ed Sheeran’s ÷ is set for release on 3 March 2017 through Asylum/Atlantic Records, with the album available to pre-order from 12:00am GMT on Friday 13 January. To find out more, go to: edsheeran.com

Songfest 2024

There are no comments

Add yours

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Songwriting Magazine