Average Joseph wins Future Music award

27 January, 2019 in Competitions, Events, News

Average Joseph

Average Joseph performing at the final of Future Music’s Songwriting Competition on 20 January 2019. Pic: Future Music

The annual Future Music competition provides a platform for winners to extend their profile and the possibility of being signed

UK singer-songwriter Average Joseph is the 2018 champion of Future Music’s National Songwriting Competition. The musician from Runcorn, Cheshire, beat 10,000 other hopefuls in the process of winning the award, which comprises of regional and area heats in front of a judging panel, before the grand final at London’s Indigo O2 Arena, which took place on 20 January.

Other winners of the prestigious award include Jacob Banks, Lucy Spraggan, Union J’s Jaymi Hensley and Karen Harding. Warner Music’s Birdy was the first winner of Future Music’s sister competition Open Mic. Future Music created the award in a quest to find the best songwriters the UK has to offer. The competition is open to both aspiring and established songwriters.

Entry for 2019 is now open for a cost of £10 per song. On the judging panel this year is Ivor Novello award winner Mark Hill, Kerrang! Radio’s Alex Baker and Sony Music’s Layla Manoochehri, among others. The heats will be held in Bristol, Birmingham, Sheffield, Dewsbury, London, Exeter, Huddersfield, Liverpool, Manchester, Middlesex, Milton Keynes, Newcastle, Portsmouth, Southampton and Reading.

For more information about the competition, location of the heats and entry form, visit songwritingcompetitionuk.com