Archive Janis Joplin material to see the light of day

14 March, 2012 in News

Janis Joplin

40th anniversary of ‘Pearl’ album marked by release of previously unheard recordings; ‘Live At The Carousel Ballroom’ also to be reissued

reviously unreleased Janis Joplin recordings are to be released by Columbia Records to mark the 40th anniversary of the release of her final album, 1971’s Pearl. The 40th anniversary edition The Pearl Sessions will include a second CD full of demos, alternate takes and mono versions of tracks, while CD1 features the original album in full. Pearl was the only album Joplin recorded with the Full Tilt Boogie Band, and was produced by Paul Rothschild, best known for his work with The Doors.

The full tracklisting for CD2 is as follows:

  1. Overheard in the Studio
  2. Get It While You Can (Take 3)
  3. Overheard in the Studio
  4. Get It While You Can (Take 5)
  5. Overheard in the Studio
  6. Move Over (Take 6)
  7. Move Over (Take 13)
  8. Move Over (Take 17)
  9. Me and Bobby McGee (demo)
  10. Me and Bobby McGee (Take 5 – alternate)
  11. Cry Baby (Alternate version)
  12. A Woman Left Lonely (Alternate Vocal)
  13. Overheard in the Studio
  14. My Baby (Alternate Take)
  15. Overheard in the Studio
  16. Get It While You Can (Take 3)
  17. My Baby (Alternate Take) /
  18. Pearl (Instrumental)
  19. Tell Mama (Live in Toronto)

The Pearl Sessions is out on 13 April, and will be followed on 16 May by the reissue of Live At The Carousel Ballroom 1968, the live album Joplin recorded with Big Brother & The Holding Company. A number of limited edition versions will also be available, including vinyl versions of both albums.

For more information, see

You might also like...